Broken Tooth, Likely Cracked Tooth Syndrome- Does a Root Canal resolve the issue?

Hello everyone - newbie here so please forgive me for any silly questions. I’m looking for a better understanding of potential treatments for an issue I’ve had, so hope I am posting in the correct place.

Around two years ago, whilst eating breakfast a piece of a lower molar broke off - I’d estimate maybe around 30% of the tooth.

I visited my then dentist, who carried out a filling for me.

However as time went on, I found I wasn’t really comfortable chewing on that tooth, and eventually any time I chew on hard foods I almost got a sharp or shooting pain, as if hitting a nerve. Not nice at all.

I’ve since moved house and moved to a new private dental practice. I asked them to review and he advised that we start with the least invasive treatment, and see how we go from there.

X-rays have not shown any visible cracks, and therefore the suggestion was:

- new filling (apparently a different material to the first one to see if it helped)
-if that fails, try a crown
- if that doesn’t fix the pain, do a root canal.

So far, the filling didn’t work- the dentist suggesting that there may be a hairline crack that could be flexing when biting down.

We’ve now put a permanent crown on, but again it still hurts to chew hard food. I don’t have any pain other than when biting or chewing, but I have noticed sensitivity to hot, cold, and sugary foods. I sometimes feel as if I’m feeling not a pain or an ache, but just a very very light throbbing - perhaps as you would towards the end of gums healing after dental surgery. It’s hard to describe.