Best portable/handheld X Ray for field work

Hi,

just wondering if anyone has had experience with any portable or handheld X-Ray devices, similar to the RayMe Wireless

https://www.jagasdental.com/product/rayme-wireless-and-portable-x-ray-machine/

Or the 'upgraded'; Biotech portable X-Ray

https://www.adae.store/products/korean-made-portable-x-ray-machine

This is for volunteer field work in the remote Islands of Vanuatu so it is being purchased via donated funds so anything to help us make the right decision is very much appreciated.
Cheers

Oh, I just heard our budget is US $1,000 which really limits our choices. I know the Nomad Pro 2 at $6k is very good but out of budget.
There are a lot of Internet listings for items like MyRay, MaxRay etc which fit the budget, and I know cheap and good in the same sentence is an oxymoron, hence why I'd appreciate any feedback if you have used anything.

Vote:

honestdoc

Verified Dentist
Solutions
Sorry, I have no experience with your inquiries. I want to thank you for your time and efforts with volunteering.

Vote:
Well thank you, we are a team of 6 from New Zealand who make 2 or sometimes 3 trips a year to the most remote Islands. Most work for the NZ public health service and give up their annual leave time and largely pay their own way, airfares, food, travel costs.

The last trip was to the island of Loh, one of the most northern and ‘forgotten Islands’ of the Torres group with the only dirt landing strip. From Vila it is 3 hours low and slow flying in a very noisy 1968 Britten Islander, the pilot said if oil was leaking from the engine that was good, it meant there was still some oil left, but to let him know if the oil stopped leaking as that meant there was no more oil :)

They have never received oral health care before so when word gets out the dental team have arrived people walk for hours. Lots of RoP, extractions and infection issues to deal with.

Last edited:

Vote: