My son's teeth are chipping

Hi please can anyone help my son is 7 his back baby teeth are like this I'm so worried. I have 3 children who have enamel hypoplasia also. My son s front teeth are also very yellow.

Attachments

• IMG_20180409_092340.jpg
    IMG_20180409_092340.jpg
    127.3 KB · Views: 314
Solutions
I'm not an expert on this but have you had your children tested for nutritional absorption issues/amino acid deficiency / pernicious anaemia etc? It's possible that there's something blocking normal processing of vit D and calcium. Can happen with gluten/lactose intolerance among others.

Vote:
Thank you for replying. I've not had my children tested no as I'm not sure how I go about it but I will look in to that thank you. I had antibiotics in my 4 pregnancies unfortunately though.

Vote:
Solutions
Go to a nutritionist. They can advise you on tests. It should not be too expensive. Worth ruling it out, but it if they do find there is a defect they can remedy it with different approaches while the child is still developing.

Vote:

MattKW

Verified Dentist
Solutions
The teeth don't look particularly chipped to me; it is not unusual for baby teeth to wear down a bit over time, but your photo is too indistinct. Hypoplasia in baby teeth is extremely rare, and the Mum would have had to have serious medical issues during pregnancy to affect baby teeth (and not affect rest of child in some way). It is certainly not a nutritional issue, and you would be wasting your money by going to a nutritionist or undergoing unnecessary medical tests; plus causing yourself stress. As for yellow front teeth - baby teeth are always whiter than adult teeth, so he may just be "normal". Have you been to a dentist?

Vote: