What could be causing the rapid sensitization of my teeth?

Over the last 1 or 2 years my teeth have been getting increasingly more sensitive to breathing in and cold things. Whenever I breathe in, the front of most of my teeth experiences noticeable pain, and occasionally the pain is jarring and comes from inside the tooth (but this only happens for a few teeth).

some general info: my top teeth crowd inwards and I need braces, I brush twice a day and floss about once a week.

Solutions
Do you use sensitive toothpaste?

I had problems with sensitivity when I had a bite problem. If you have too much pressure on teeth it can make them sensitive. Try to relax your jaw in the day and get a nightguard to wear at night.

Vote:
Yeah I've been using Sensodyne for the past 3 or 4 years. I do have alignment problems as my top 8 or so teeth point inwards. But can that really cause the fronts of my teeth to be sensitive?

Vote:
Solutions
Well I found it surprising that a bite adjustment made my teeth more sensitive. The dentist said that if teeth are knocked about it tends to create sensitivity.

Vote:
You could try brushing once more per day and flossing more often. Whenever I feel some sensitivity, it usually goes away when I brush. However I feel your situation is a little more severe.

Vote:
Solutions