Tooth Erosion Is Ruining My Speech

Hi, everyone.

It's been a rough year and I think I just need to toss this out into the void to see what happens.

I have a bottom tooth that protrudes outward significantly and it - along with acidic drinks and poor hygiene - scraped away the back of one of my front teeth and has left me with an infuriating speech impediment. I have a degree in English, have traditionally spoken with great fluidity, and typically consider myself to be an above average orator. Essentially, speaking eloquently has always been something that I've taken great pride in - until now.

My front tooth has lost so much volume that my tongue no longer makes contact with it when speaking quickly. L, R, T, S, CH, and SH sounds - ESPECIALLY if they're back-to-back - have become incredibly awkward for me to pronounce. For example, if I say the word "texts" then it comes out as a half-assed sounding "texs" without the final 't' and a whistling 's' hanging on the end of it. It's as if I only have single front tooth despite the fact that they look completely normal when I smile. From behind, the tooth feels concaved - inordinately curved and significantly different than it ever has before.

The slightly disjointed alignment of my two front teeth has also opened a sliver of space that is resulting in an absolutely infuriating whistle when pronouncing 's' words. It's very subtle and is only noticeable when I whisper or speak softly, - it gets lost in the loudness of my voice otherwise - but it drives me crazy.