Need advice - have a abscess in my tooth but only minor to no pain

For the last 3 weeks I have a minor pain in one specific section of my upper jaw only when I press on it - it is on the left side of my face beside my nostril - when I blow my nose I put pressure on this section and I feel a slight pain - it is not a large pain but noticably.

I went to the dentist 2 days ago and they did full xrays - they said I have a abscess in the root and he suggested root canal - he did prescribe antibiotics which I have now been taking for 1.5 days. He is suggesting to do the root canal in about a week.

I have done some googling and I'm starting to feel uncomfortable about a root canal (keep hearing health horror stories). So looking for advice. In particular, if the antibiotics kill the infection, is there any chance that my tooth and pulp will heal back to normal? If there is a chance, any advice on home remedies to help the healing. Or being the xray confirmed I have a abscess on the root, is there 100% no chance for this tooth to heal and is my only 2 options truly a root canal or extraction? What is I left the tooth as-is after/if the antibiotics kill the bacteria? As mentioned I have little to no pain - so maybe waiting is the right answer for me until things either heal or start getting worse????