Mouthwash question

Hi,
I have a situation where I'm trying to ensure a sterilized mouth prior to flossing and brushing. I have significant mucosa erosion in the vestibule due to what I believe is from a silicone chin implant that I intend on having removed. I made an appt with a Periodontist in early August to have gums etc. evaluated and plant to have the implant removed in January.

My question is related to opinions on mouthwash before flossing and brushing to sterilize and if it should be alcohol based. I've been using Listerine in this capacity for a couple years but recently thought that maybe the alcohol can contribute to the tissue erosion. I used Crest clinical with hydrogen peroxide and had a bad reaction where I actually had pieces of tissue in my mouth as if it had burned the inside of my mouth. Would like to get the opinion of some of the great contributors here as to whether an antiseptic based mouthwash would even sterilize the mouth prior to brushing - is it even worth it for that purpose with the potential tradeoff being negative affects on the soft tissue?

Thanks!

MattKW

Verified Dentist
Solutions
Most mouthwashes have removed alcohol because of a tenuous association to mouth cancer. Some of the "burning" mouthwashes (yes, I'm looking at you, Listerine!) have caused my patients to shed skin. It appears as white strings; not harmful but it makes you wonder. Those sort of mouthwashes also only have limited working time, despitre their marketing. The best mouthwashes contain chlorhexidine gluconate. But you have to brush and floss first to clean off the plaque so it will stick to clean tooth surfaces for best effect. If you don't like the taste, studies have shown that even diluted with water 50:50 it is still very effective.

Vote: