Is it possible my dentist didn't refill my cavity enough resulting in my pain?

Maybe 9 months ago an old filling fell out while flossing so I went to a local dentist to have it refilled and afterwards and ever since the top of my tooth is sensitive. I can eat but have to do so carefully and often there is slight pain. When I went back to have it checked out all they were concerned with was the possibility that they filled it too high but I'm wondering now if the problem was they didn't fill it enough as I can tell it's lower than before the original fell out. I didn't mention it to them because they were so concerned that it was too high but now I'm regretting not mentioning it.

I'm not a professional but here's my opinion. If your filling was so far gone/broken as to just flake off while flossing, cavity may have formed behind and they may have had to drill a bit closer to the nerve to put a new filling and that may cause you tooth to be more sensitive. However, pain ongoing after 9 months is not a good sign. It's possible the nerve had been affected and a root canal treatment may be necessary.

About having filled too high or too low. The only concern is filling too high because it creates a high point of contact and prevents the other teeth from closing together properly, as well as putting a lot of pressure on that high spot. Less filling is not really a concern, as long as the tooth is well covered.

Vote:
I'm not a professional but here's my opinion. If your filling was so far gone/broken as to just flake off while flossing, cavity may have formed behind and they may have had to drill a bit closer to the nerve to put a new filling and that may cause you tooth to be more sensitive. However, pain ongoing after 9 months is not a good sign. It's possible the nerve had been affected and a root canal treatment may be necessary.