Should I Go To The ER?

I had a route canal done on tooth 19 a few years ago. Last Monday I woke up and the tooth was a little sore. Wednesday I woke up and my gum was swollen, not golf ball size but noticeable. I call and get and get an apt with a dentist on Thursday (I'm new to NJ, I just moved here.) The dentist takes an ex-ray and comes back and says it's infected and has to be redone. He writes me a script for 500mg of amoxicillin (take 1 3 times a day). It's Saturday night and the swelling has gone down considerably, but not completely. Let me just make clear that I am in NO PAIN AT ALL. Earlier today I notice the left side of my face, the side with the tooth was becoming sensitive to touch, not painful, just sensitive to me touching it with my hand. As the night has gone on, it feels like my face is hot, but I wouldn't say I feel feverish. I don't have a thermometer to take my temp.

I'm contemplating going to the ER, because, well, I don't want to die, but I just started a new job and won't have benefits for 60 days.

Thoughts?

2015-03-02%2012.28.10.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Vote:

Ian

Administrator
Hi Mike, sorry for the delay in your picture appearing - the photo triggered the spam software to hide the post. I've unblocked it now :).

Vote:

drmins

Verified Dentist
Had seen the x-ray. Was waiting for the pic of infected site. I guess you forgot uploading it as you have already got it corrected by your dentist.
Though its very hard to diagnose from the x-ray image alone, i assume that you are having a localised periodontitis for the molar. You will need a dose of antibiotics.

(Next time when you upload a x-ray pic,pls ensure that its doesn't get blurred. The apex of the root are not very clear in this pic and can mislead the diagnosis.)

Vote:
Had seen the x-ray. Was waiting for the pic of infected site. I guess you forgot uploading it as you have already got it corrected by your dentist.